One Day in Tokyo

Many months back I had a long-ish break before my next job, so I signed up for an interesting “job”, as an OBC, or On Board Courier.

Basically there are some businesses that require immediate, next day, hand delivery service, and OBC companies come in to fulfill that gap that other delivery companies can’t. This is because the OBC will be activated to fly on the same day to the venue.

Well since it’s always going to be such a short notice thing, in the end I only was lucky enough to do it once. Oh well. In any case for an OBC the perks are frequent flyer miles, some allowance and free flight to the destination you cannot really choose – I guess it’s good if you’re a retiree or student, and have some countries you really want to visit. Sometimes it’s possible to extend a trip on your own expense with the OBC company.

It’s definitely a plus if you know multiple languages and hold a passport that’s visa-exempt to many countries. I only know 3, and Japanese is not one of them sadly. I only took a basic short course for it.

Anyway, for me I got a Whatsapp message around 9 am, and around 10 pm the same night I was on my way to Japan – Tokyo. There’s quite a lot of communication needed as I also had to communicate with the agents, and take photographs of the parcel(s) whenever possible.

By 9 am the next morning I was in Tokyo Narita Airport and done with my courier work. I had around 8-9 hours before my flight home, so I decided to head down to Shibuya for a very short sightseeing.

I remembered heading to a counter to buy an airport express train to Ueno Station before walking the underground tunnel to transit to another line in order to reach Shibuya. Japan metro system is rather comprehensive and easy to navigate, although once I reached the station itself it’s more complicated to find my way out onto ground floor and into the sun.

I have to mention that toilets at the mall are small but clean and cosy!

Anyway for a Japan guide you can visit this website: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2027.html

By Keisei Skyliner
1 transfer, 65 minutes, 2400-2670 yen, 2 connections per hour
Take the Keisei Skyliner from Narita Airport to Nippori Station (about 40 minutes, 2470 yen) and transfer to the JR Yamanote Line to get to Shinjuku Station (20 minutes, 200 yen). There are connections every 20-40 minutes. If purchased in advance online or via a travel agent outside of Japan, foreign tourists can ride the Skyliner for just 2200 yen.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Ueno Station. I was approached by Japanese students doing an English survey – I think something related to tourism?

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I very randomly window shopped in Shibuya, while getting slightly lost in the many buildings and shops.

Shibuya’s guide: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3007.html

Many of the cafes as well as the airport train have complimentary wifi, there I read that Don Quijote is quite a good place for cheap and good things to buy – apparently it’s raved among tourists as a place to visit!

https://anakjajan.com/2015/07/30/don-quijote-the-most-awesome-discount-store-in-japan/

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The famous Shibuya crossing

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Interesting facade of a shop

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Ramen from a shop located underground

I asked a random lady if it’s nice and she said it was, but it turned out rather salty and not that nice. I guess she was just too polite to tell a tourist the truth lol.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Interesting motivational sign at the shop

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Some souvenirs at the airport before flying back

I ended up feeling jet-lagged the next day, and wished I had extended my trip. Oh well. lol. Would love to go for another OBC trip again, it was rather exciting. And funny too, I kept telling the airport customs staff in my basic Japanese that I totally suck in it and I don’t understand them, but they continued speaking to me in Japanese @.@ I wished I had attended more classes then..

Leave a Reply

